An Artist Makes Toast.

toast-toasts-toast

 

I love this image and it’s fantastic Literature.  The issue of firearms in the United States is one of my favorite issues to observe.  Both of the extremes of thought on this see the issue as zero sum, no one is changing their minds, and I’ve yet to find a single written document that puts data forward and doesn’t pick and choose or slant the numbers in some fashion.  The above image and its text seems like it’s a pro firearm piece of communication, and yes, you can look at it that way, but I like it because it playfulness with the English Language.

I would love to finally go forward and post all my thoughts on the firearm debate, but I’m hungry, so lets make some real toast.

I don’t like the loaves of bread one finds in a grocery store that are baked at nearby factories, and shipped, already sliced.  The bread feels like something from the isle where they put the crackers, and why the slices are so thin I will not understand past making each slice exactly one serving of grains so people can gauge their diet.  As many of these breads come in various sizes, the thickness doesn’t seem to change much.  I don’t like this because when making a sandwich with any pickles or really any vegetables, chances are they have a great amount of water contained in the plant itself, or they had just been washed.  Either way, the juice from a tomato or a few pickles turn the everyday slice of bread in to a ripped and unless part of the meal.

I watched this movie for the first time many years ago, but as with a great deal about this movie, this scene caught and held my attention.  That its now on netflix for me to examine only helped me bring this article to life.

 

http://www.trailercodes.com/dvd/DVMmFOMNunrMQU/toast

 

The scene does have a few seconds cut out of it, but you get the idea.

If Starbucks is more than happy to display for your morning purchase enough calories to meet the 1800-2000 you need for the entire day (for an adult) in a single morning visit, surely one can reallocate one’s time to get a higher quality of calories.

 

IMG_1134

There’s what I started with. Two slices from a loaf of French Bread from the grocery store bakery. Cost of the entire loaf, less than $2.00. The slices are about 3/4 of an inch thick, and about the diameter of my palm.

 

IMG_1136

Here is the comparison to the bread I normally buy. Most of us pass by a store with a bakery in it, would it really be that hard to change?

 

IMG_1137

Yep, after pushing down the toaster lever, I had to push the slices down.

 

 

 

IMG_1139

This is the result. Apparently, the General of Electric’s stockholders watched that movie and didn’t want a public boycott. Looks pretty damn good.

 

 

IMG_1138

These are my preferred toast smother ingredients. Lingonberries, and that really fantastic tasting butter.

 

IMG_1140

And here we have one with butter, the other with both. Those Lingonberries are best served at zero miles per hour… just saying. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

