Warrior Artist.

Got me a good ol’ AR platform rifle before California’s new cowardly laws go in to effect.  The ease of managing the “totally not going to stop any criminal” bullet button, plus the closing opportunity was the deciding factor.  Of course, the AR platform is well known, and you’d be able to keep it running even if a ZA situation shut everything down with all the spare parts lying around, and with two sets of ammunition chambered for it, its hands down one of my top picks for “if you only had one” of any given thing.

The 10 round magazine restriction is a bit of a pain, but the magazines that are legally 10 round capacity, but could easily be rearranged to work as normal should a major catastrophe occur, or law makers who would better serve our country as janitorial interns leave office.

At the price offered, this Colt CE-1000 fit my life perfectly.  The caliber size was also agreeable to move my kids from the basic .22 learning sizes to a platform which allows a variety effective uses.  There were three issues I found unacceptable but manageable.  First, the barrel is not chromed lined.  Keep it clean, and its only of issue if the weapon were to be used in combat where heavy use, and excessive heat would warrant the necessity of chrome lining.  Second, its missing an ejection port cover.  The parts needed are minimal, and easily installed at less cost then having it included.  Third, the forward assist is also not stock on this model.  I had to do a bit of reading about this and came to the conclusion that if all my other firearms don’t have one, why do I feel this one should?  In short, I don’t, I’ll simply keep the thing clean, and not run low quality ammunition through it.

So which the newly purchased rifle in hand, I decided to install the ejection port cover.  For whatever reason, only Marines have this strange need to keep closing the thing as compared to the other armed services.  Speaking as a Marine, its not rocket science, you keep the thing closed to prevent dirt and debris from entering the receiver and chamber.  Not full proof by any means, but its better than having the thing left open or missing a cover.

I purchased the parts from Brownells, the rod made by Colt, the clip from Brownells, the spring from Heckler and Koch, and the Cover from Wilson Combat.  Ideally I wanted all Colt parts, but some were not in stock.

 

IMG_1710 (1)

 

labeled

 

IMG_1713

Put some “iron” sights on.

 

IMG_1715

Added some painters tape to prevent scratching the metal’s coating.

 

IMG_1717

The ejection port with no cover.

 

 

IMG_1719

Running the bar through the holes. There is a tiny clip that is put on this rod when it’s in place. its so small and difficult to put on w/ just pliers that I stopped trying to take a picture for fear it would fling off and be lost forever in the carpet.

 

IMG_1721

After running the bar through the cover and the holes on the receiver, plus the spring, I put the clip in place. This whole process cost $30 bucks w/ shipping, and took 20 minutes (because of that tiny clip). Being brand new and never fired, all the parts are still a bit tight, but they’ll come along nicely.

Its been almost 20 years since at AR platform rifle was under my control, but the Marines ensured my knowledge and skills were still in working order.  I was able to disassemble and reassemble the entire thing quickly, I remembered the names of all the parts, and to be honest, I felt a comfort I have not felt in years having such a familiar piece of hardware back in my hands which I spent so much time and effort learning the ins and outs of.

 

 

GET SOME!!

Leave a Reply

