Lantern in Crimson

Here is an oil painting I did for class.  Its done as a monochrome, and I picked Crimson as my one hue.  I really didn’t want this turning out to look like Valentine’s Day merchandise, so I took extra effort to use as little white paint as possible.

As you can see, I’ve not lost my thing for lanterns.

 

img_2015The oils are becoming easier to use, and I can see their value to incorporate them in to my toolbox, plus historically, the ease of manufacturing such paints.  I believe I’ll do a few large paintings for my kids, and possibly my friend, and then one or two for myself before stowing the oil paint gear i had to get for class.

Leave a Reply

