DIY Pull Up Bar for Small Spaces.

I needed a pull up bar. I don’t have much space, and I can’t turn over $200-300 for much right now. What I do have is a few tools, some knowledge, and the ability to give up a few nights of restaurant food in favor of a salad with chicken at home.

A casual search on the web gives great ideas for homemade, DIY pull-up bar configurations, and nearly all of them have a flaw fatal to small spaces. In various ways, you have to stabilize your pull-up rig, either from the ground, in to the wall, or from the ceiling. I’m not suppose to be altering my walls, nor ceiling, so the ground was the least bad of options. I also don’t like emergencies happening, and falling flat on my face as I forgot a 2×4 was running across my doorway for me to trip over.

Well, one guy’s idea seemed clever for my situation, but alas, his article was long forgotten, and the images were only small in size. Dedicated to my cause, I took the low resolution picture and went to work.

The smartness is this bar’s design lies with taking the stabilizing elements, and getting as much of them off the floor, and in spaces not normally occupied with daily activity, notably, over the door frame.

 

The ingredients: 6: 8 foot 2x4s 1: 8 foot 2×6 or 2×8 1: 3+ foot screw bar (3/8s or larger) w/ 4 nuts and washers. Protractor Tape measure saw to cut wood saw to cut metal Approximately 25+ 3 inch wood screws 1: 48 inch pipe, whatever size feels best in hand. card box box (for padding)

You want at least a few inches gap from the ceiling.

If you’re working in a confined space, keep a shop vac handy, and make sure you check the filter before going to the hardware store. When it comes to a shop vac, always buy filters in pairs.

You want at least a 4 inch block above the beam that will hold the metal pull up bar. You also need to cut a angled piece to help support the weight. Do not rely on screws along to hold your weight up. I did a 45 degree angle as this was the simplest to accomplish w/ hand tools and a protractor.

 

Then you add in the 2×6 or 2×8. You’ll need two of these, one front, and one back. They act as a clamp to hold the two main supports in place.

This is the rear of the finished product. I put cardboard between the pull up bar rig, and the walls, wood trim in order to protect it.

What it looks like between the front and back.

Finally, the front, and the business end.

The original picture I found and worked from. This guy is using homemade rings for dips in this image.

Leave a Reply

